

Agenda Schools Forum

Monday, 20 March 2023 at 2.30 pm in the Council Chamber - Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

1 Minute Silence

Schools Forum to observe a minute silence in respect of Schools Forum Governor representative Bob Patel.

2 Apologies for Absence

To receive any apologies for absence.

3 **Declarations of Interest**

Members to declare any interests in matters to be discussed at the meeting.

4 Minutes

11 - 24

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 16 January 2023 as a correct record.

5 School Budgets 2023/24 (including Early Years 25 - 46 & High Needs)

Schools Forum to note the School Budget Information 2023/24.



6	HNB Budgets 2023/24	47 - 56
	Schools Forum to note the contents of the report in relation to the 2023/24 HNB Grant Budget.	
7	High Needs Block P11 Monitoring	57 - 62
	Schools Forum to note the contents of the report in relation to the 2022/23 HNB Grant budget monitoring for the period 1 April – 28 February 2023.	
8	Fair Funding Scheme Updates	63 - 64
	Schools Forum to consider and approve the update to the Scheme for the Financing of Schools.	
9	Forward Plan 2023/24	65 - 66
	Schools Forum to note the Forward Plan for 2023/24.	
10	AOB	

To consider the membership of the ongoing Working Groups and the appointment of substitute members. Shokat Lal Chief Executive Sandwell Council House Freeth Street Oldbury West Midlands

Distribution

N Toplass (Chair) M Arnull, J Barry, S Baker, J Bailey, D Barton, E Benbow, K Berdesha, L Bray, D Broadbent, C Handy, D Irish, W Lawrence, S Mistry, D Steen, J Topham and Union

Contact: <u>democratic_services@sandwell.gov.uk</u>

Schools Forum Distribution to Members:

Body / Number of positions on Forum	Nominated Member	Nominated Substitute
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Primary Schools (5)	Ms S Baker Mr J Barry Ms W Lawrence Vacancy Mrs S Mistry	L Paino A Connop S Penny Nomination awaited K Duff
School Governors – Maintained Primary Schools (3)	Mrs D Steen Mrs E Benbow Vacancy	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Secondary Schools (1)	Christina Handy- Rivett	M Smith
School Governors – Maintained Secondary Schools (2)	Mrs D Broadbent Vacancy	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Academies (4)	Ms L Bray Mr D Irish Mr M Arnull Mr J Topham	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Special School (1)	Mr N Toplass (Chair)	Nomination awaited
Trade Union (1)	Mr. D Barton	Phil Jones
Early Years Partnership (1)	Vacancy	Nomination awaited
14-19 Provider (1)	Ms J Bailey	M Salter
Pupil Referral Unit (1)	Ms K Berdesha	Ms K Hazelwood

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?)

Secondary Maintained Block	Voting	
Headteachers J Christina Handy-Rivett	Can vote on all business except primary	
Governors	school de-delegation.	
Mrs D Broadbent Vacant		

Primary Maintained Block	Voting
Headteachers Sally Baker Jamie Barry Vacancy Wendy Lawrence Seema Mistry	Can vote on all business except secondary school de-delegation.
Governors Ms L Howard Mrs E Benbow Vacancy	

Special Block	Voting
Neil Toplass	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

Academies Block	Voting
James Topham (Secondary)	
Dave Irish (Secondary)	Convete on all husiness avaant primary
Mark Arnull School Appeal	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and
Panel Member Training	education functions.
N(Secondary)	
Lucy Bray (Primary)	

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?)

Continued...

Pupil Referral Unit	Voting
Kuldip Berdesha	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

NON-SCHOOL MEMBERS

Early Years Partnership	Voting
Vacancy	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and education functions.

Trade Union	Voting
Darren Barton NUT	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and school funding formula.

16-19 Provider	Voting
Jane Bailey	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and school funding formula.

- (a) A meeting will only be quorate if 40% of the total active membership is present (Voting Members Only). Where a nominated substitute member is in attendance on behalf of a duly appointed member, he/she shall be included in the number of persons present for the purposes of determining if a quorum has been achieved.
- (b) If the meeting is inquorate, it will be able to proceed but cannot legally take decisions (E.g. Election of a Chairperson, or a decision relating to funding conferred by the funding regulations). An inquorate meeting can respond to authority consultation and give views to the authority. The authority can take account of such views

Information about meetings in Sandwell



If you are attending the meeting and require assistance to access the venue, please contact Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk).



If the fire alarm sounds, please follow the instructions of the officers present and leave the building by the nearest exit.



Only people invited to speak at a meeting may do so. Everyone at the meeting is expected to be respectful and listen to the discussion.



Agendas with reports with exempt information should be treated as private and confidential. It is your responsibility to ensure that any such reports are kept secure. After the meeting confidential papers should be disposed of in a secure way.



This meeting may be recorded and broadcast on the Internet. If this is the case, it will be confirmed at the meeting and further information will be provided.



You are allowed to use devices for the purposes of recording or reporting during the public session of the meeting. When using your devices they must not disrupt the meeting – please ensure they are set to silent.



Members who cannot attend the meeting should submit apologies by contacting Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk)



All agenda, reports, minutes for Sandwell Council's meetings, councillor details and more are available from our <u>website</u>